“Éowyn and the Nazgûl” Final Lineup Posted

The final submissions for the “Éowyn and the Nazgûl” art challenge have been posted over at The Art Order – all 160 of them! I don’t envy the judges such a difficult task. The quality of work is very high, and there’s just so much of it.

It will be very exciting to see what the judges’ reactions to the pieces are. All are giants in the field of illustration, and several are undeniable Tolkien experts in their own right. That’s daunting in itself.

Greg Hildebrandt’s work with his brother Tim was a major inspiration to me when I was a fledgling artist in the 70’s, and the 1977 Ballantine Books Tolkien calendar was one of my bibles at the time. It’s surreal to me that he will now be looking at my Tolkien art, nearly 40 years later. I hope I managed to learn something in the interim…

No matter how the judging goes, this challenge has already been a huge personal success for me, and I am heading into the summer on a real art high. Best of luck to everyone, and thanks to The Art Order and all the judges for taking the time to sponsor such a inspiring and galvanising event!

Here is my final submission. Special thanks to Annica and Rasmus Strand for modeling help and the loan of chainmail, respectively.

A painting of a scene from Tolkien: "Eowyn and the Nazgul"

The Art Order “Eowyn and the Nazgul” Challenge Line-up

Muddy Colors

One thought on ““Éowyn and the Nazgûl” Final Lineup Posted

Leave a Reply

